Back in the game #Round2

I’m back. Back in Singapore, my second trip in 2016. Unfortunately work dogs me amd is making a monkey of my Chinese New Year holiday. Back on this blog, since Oct 2015. I got really annoyed by several requests to remove less than flattering honest opinions of my dining experiences.

Back in wine. Not that it’s ever left me, but we needed a break from each other. It was time to reacquaint myself with the dusty bottles lying right at the back of my collection. Time to go back to the roots of my wine discovery. Back to when I first drove about the Barossa Valley in a rental car.

imageIn 2002, Torbreck had broken through to the flag hoisting honour for Australian wines in North America. Lots has changed in the past decade. Trends come then crash. Heads change hands. Even the best stubborn wines will evolve however slowly.

The 2002 Factor has loosened its grip ever so slightly. Impressive nose, still intense on the dark berry fruit, hints of clove and fruitcake spice.  Smooth silky texture… then POW!!! A punch of acid smashes the tastebuds. It is a refreshing eye-widening reminder that time can’t destroy our origins. This is a Barossan wine through and through. This is a Dave Powell crafted wine no doubt. Rich flavours of blackberries, anise, black plums. The shackles of new French oak have long gone but the robust structure and framework of this amazingly crafted wine remain in its long lingering finish. Drinking awesomely now. Why not a 100?

About simplepalatesseriously

I am a neuroscience researcher in Melbourne, Australia with a keen interest in wines of the world.
This entry was posted in Australia, Barossa Valley, Daily happenings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

